In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Underground boiler line distance

Discussion in 'OWB's and Gasification Boilers' started by monko, Dec 14, 2018.

1. monko

monko

Hello, I got a new place and I plan on setting up my central boiler 6048 for my heat I know my stoves big enough to heat the house and the workshop set up in the barn, my dilemma is it's 550 feet between house and barn if I put my stove in the middle would it be ok if I use good quality underground line. Or am I just asking for a headache. I would basically have two 275 foot long runs. _20181214_073715.JPG

2. Nitrodave

Nitrodave

I’m no expert.. but I would say with quality , proper sized piping with a proper size pump you would be ok.

3. nsmaple

nsmaple

That's going to be pricey. But yes, if done right.

amateur cutter, Chaz and Screwloose like this.
  4. monko

monko

Yes I know it's not going to be cheap I could almost just buy another stove for what it's going to cost but I really don't want to have to mess with two fires every day.

5. stuckinthemuck

stuckinthemuck

Have you done an analysis of the heating demand both places? My gut instinct is that you should put the boiler closer to the structure that has the higher heat demand.. what temperature do you keep your shop when you are not using it? Perhaps having the circulation pump for the shop on a timer when the thermostat is not calling for heat to eliminate the chance of freeze up would reduce your wood demand as would having the boiler closer to the house if that is indeed the structure that requires the most heat... 550’ is a long trench to dig deep but getting below the frost line would help significantly with idle time... again, don’t know much about it, let us know what you decide to do..

6. Farmchuck

Farmchuck