In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Picked up a cant hook yesterday

Discussion in 'Axes, Mauls, and Hand Saws' started by metalcuttr, Nov 22, 2018.

1. metalcuttr

metalcuttr

For about a year I have been looking for a reasonably priced peavey or cant hook to assist in firewood cutting. For some reason used ones are few and far between around here and any store bought are very high priced IF you can find them! Saw this one in Craig's List and got it for $40. Most any used go for around $60+ it seems so I think I did OK. It is shorter than I'd like at only 46" and of the cant hook type. I have always used the pointed logging peavey type so I hope this will work ok for general log rolling/turning. I could always weld a point on it and could even fabricate a new larger hook for it. The log jack leg feature I have never used before. I suspect it may work for smaller logs but I may find myself just removing the leg! So my only worries are; is the handle long enough for good leverage and will the cant type point work well on logs. Time will tell.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Nov 22, 2018
    M2theB, Bert, WeldrDave and 8 others like this.
  2. In the Pines

In the Pines

very nice deal! I too have been looking at getting one of those as well.

M2theB, WeldrDave, Bert and 4 others like this.
  3. papadave

papadave

With all the logs in the drive now, I've also been thinking to get one. The Amish general store about 40 minutes south of me sells 'em, but I don't remember the price.
    That one looks almost new. Nice.

M2theB, WeldrDave, Bert and 2 others like this.
  4. Sourwood

Sourwood

Northern Tool sells one at a very reasonable price, though I don’t recall it. I bought one as a back-up. It took a while to come in, but it is good quality. That was one of the criticism from buyers who rated them .. them must drop-ship them rather than stock them.