In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

New pellet stove recommendations--Harmon? Enviro? others?

Discussion in 'Pellet Stoves, Pellet Fireplaces, Pellet Furnaces' started by DanP, Jan 2, 2020.

1. DanP

DanP

I've been nursing an Englander PDV-25 along since 2007. The last few years have required a great deal of nursing, and I think it's time to give up and buy something new. What I want is the pellet stove that is most likely to last longest--I'm willing to pay a bit more if I can be confident I'll get a long life out of it. But I can't find any reviews anywhere that talk about the long term reliability of any of the models I'm looking at.

There are two stores in my area that have models I can look at in stock and that will come to my house (way out of town) to install and service them. So I'm strongly inclined to pick something they sell, if at all possible.

My favorite dealer only sells Enviros. I'm looking at the Enviro Meridian Cast Iron, although I'd like to also look at the Enviro M55 Cast Iron.

The other dealer in town sells Harmons. I'm looking at the Harmon XXV Cast Iron, although I'd also like to look at the Absolute 43.

The last time I looked, I spoke with a Quad-Fire dealer, and was pretty impressed by them, so I thought my next stove would be a Quad Fire. However, that dealer went out of business. I could get a Quad-Fire through my favorite dealer, but it would be special ordered, I wouldn't be able to see (or hear) it work before buying it, and they said they may or may not be able to service it. So I'm strongly inclined to get an Enviro or a Harmon, unless everybody on here thinks Quad-Fire is way more reliable.