In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

need a new smoker

Discussion in 'The Smokehouse' started by rek, Feb 12, 2019.

1. rek

rek

Hi folks,
    I’ve been using a Cabelas charcoal smoker for over 30 years. It’s just a can with a cover, charcoal pan at the bottom, water pan in the middle, and grates on top. I use a lot of Apple branches and some bags of chips once in a while. I smoked wild turkeys, and a lot of fish in it, and it’s been great, but starting to rust up and getting bent up a bit. What do you recommend for a replacement? I never really looked at the different types - hot smokers, cold smokers, electric, etc., but if you were smoking mostly fish , turkeys and venison, what would you select?
    I apologize if there is already a thread on this, but if there is maybe you could point it out.

Thanks

Chvymn99, NortheastAl, leoht and 2 others like this.
  2. TurboDiesel

TurboDiesel

ive been eyeing the Kamado and the Big Green Egg style smokers.
    i already have a couple big cookers. the small size wood/charcoal would be great

MikeyB, Chvymn99, NortheastAl and 3 others like this.
  3. BHags

BHags

I've said this before. I smoke everything on my Weber Kettle grill. Run a snake of charcoal, add wood, close the cover. I use it all year as either a grill or smoker.

4. fox9988

fox9988

I have a big homemade wood fired smoker at home, would never be without it. Takes about an hour to get it ready to cook. Food needs covered with foil after about an hour of smoke, then it can be left for up to 12 hours, temp falls after that. Bones fall out of ribs. Roasts can be cut with a fork.
    At the fire station we us an electric smoker. Set the temp/timer/fill the water pan/fill with wood chips occasionally/use the heat probe if desired/etc. Bluetooth if you want. Very handy.