In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Help me stop my stacks from falling over

Discussion in 'The Wood Pile' started by BetterCallMaul, May 9, 2017.

1. BetterCallMaul

BetterCallMaul

So, I'm a bit of a beginner when it comes to firewood hoarding. I've got some 6ft x 4ft pallets and I'm trying to criss-cross the corners and then stack in between. However, I'm finding that the corners are being pushed out and falling over.

Is there a better way to stack wood on pallets?
    I didn't level the ground before stacking, so that could be an issue. But if I mostly level the ground, is this stacking technique ideal or is something else better on pallets?

First photo is one showing the right front corner ready to fall.
    Second photo is a collapse that already happened (while I was stacking). Back right and front right corner tipped over...I started to rebuild the front right one.

20170508_083116.jpg
    20170508_083122.jpg

2. FatBoy85

FatBoy85

Im having this similar issue.

3. NH_Wood

NH_Wood

Cribbing the corners takes practice - set aside your best splits - rectangles and triangle splits which are as straight and flat as possible. The two outer splits should be as close as possible to each other in height, and taller than the splits you place in between (to prevent wobbling). These cribbed corners must be done well or they will eventually lean and fall. Until you have more practice, you could use t-posts against the end to keep the splits from shifting - but, of course, t-posts make cribbing unnecessary! I crib, in part, to avoid buying extra materials to keep my stacks stable. Here is an old pic from a couple years ago showing how I crib my corners on my pallets. These stacks sit for at least 4-5 years - haven't had one fall over yet. Good luck! Cheers! IMG_4316.JPG

Midwinter, Maina, Pricey106 and 26 others like this.
  4. Canadian border VT