In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Gun advice

Discussion in 'The Game Room' started by DaveGunter, Mar 17, 2020.

1. DaveGunter

DaveGunter

first, I'm a total noob to gun ownership...so...

I bought a Rossi that has interchangeable barrels, I believe this is a youth model gun that is intended to be used to introduce a young hunter to multiple gun types without a huge investment. It has:

20 gage shotgun barrel modified choke that is 22.5 inches

.22 caliber rifle barrel that is 18 inches

.243 Winchester rifle barrel that is 22.5 inches

I bought this gun for several reasons. It's simple (single shot breech) and small and had sling attachments, making it very easy to carry in the woods while I'm out with the Hounds with the intention of being able to dispatch varmints, mostly porcupine with the shotgun barrel as we encountered them.

The other big reason was that it came with the rifle barrels should I ever feel the need to start using them. I tried out the rifle barrels, target practicing, with very limited luck with the sights that came with the gun. So I'm considering adding scope(s) but don't know the first thing about scopes and have no idea whether it is possible or advisable to add them or even whether it would help.

Am I wasting my time? Am I likely able to ever become proficient with this gun as a rifle?

Does the design of the gun (interchangeable barrels) just make it inherently less accurate?

If I bought scope(s) for the rifle barrels, could they be used with future (dedicated) rifles should I choose to go that route after getting used to rifles with this gun?

2. lukem

lukem

I don't know anything about that particular gun, but whenever you change a barrel there's a chance it won't be lined up exactly the same as it was before the barrel swap. Adding optics would help, but again, swapping the barrels might cause you to loose your zero.