In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Thought on rifle

Discussion in 'Everything Else (off topic)' started by Backwoods Savage, Nov 22, 2020.

1. Backwoods Savage

Backwoods Savage Moderator

A couple good friends are after me to use one of their rifles. 350. I have no experience with one of these but am hearing good things. Best is practically no recoil and good clean kills with them.

Cabela has them on sale this week at $240 (part is rebate). At least I think they have this caliber. I'll check tomorrow. Price sounds great. It is Savage Axis.

Any thoughts?

2. tree killer

tree killer

Looks to beat out the 300 blackout. Savage Axis is a good rifle, I have a 22-250 and my daughter has a 243 Axis. Priced right and reliable.

3. Horkn

Horkn

350 legend is a popular caliber. Michigan, and other states have rules allowing only straight walled rifles in some areas. Using a 30/30 or 308, you surely don't have those rules.

I would steer clear of a bolt action. A semi auto will kick less.

Some semi autos even in regular deer cartridges (not talking 223 because I don't feel that's a proper deer round) will offer recoil of only 4 lbs which is less than 1/3 of the kick of the 30/30 lever you're using.

4. Horkn

Horkn

5. Horkn

Horkn

Doing the math, if that's the regular axis, at under 6 lbs, it will kick almost as much as a 30/30 winchester. Only 1 lb of recoil force less.

Screenshot_20201122-134430.png

I don't know if that's going to get you to where you need to be regarding recoil. The price is right though.

6. Horkn

Horkn

Maybe all you really need is a good recoil pad?
    Recoil Pads Showcase

If your winchester model 94 is a steel butt stock model, like many, they kick a lot. Adding a relatively inexpensive butt pad will reduce felt recoil quite a bit.