In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

TruFuel vs Stihl Motomix

Discussion in 'Chainsaws and Power Equipment' started by LordOfTheFlies, Nov 10, 2020.

1. LordOfTheFlies

LordOfTheFlies

Well, I was doing a little research and found the 2 SDS for TruFuel and Stihl Motomix.

First off let's preface this with I am completely new to 2-cycle gas engines as I have recently just restored a Stihl 028 WB AV chainsaw that had its fuel line melted shut from sitting in old fuel. Using motomix the chainsaw is up and running like a beast.

Anyways, the first thing I noticed immediately............is that they are manufactured literally right next to each other in Lousianna.

Now isn't that interesting.......

2 gallons of Stihl Motomix cost $75.84 including tax at my local AceHardware. It was $34.99 each before tax.

1 gallon of TruFuel at Home Depot costs $19.97 before tax.

They also have the same Emergency contact info: ChemTrec 800-424-9300.

That said, I noticed that the Stihl SDS states "WARNING: This product does not contain any chemical known to the State of California to cause cancer or to cause birth defects."

Whereas the TruFuel says "May cause cancer" in the Hazard Statements.

I also noticed that the ingredients are different.

Motomix on the left. TruFuel on the right.TruFuel has a lot more hydrocarbon ingredients (i.e. Toluene, xylene, ethylbenzene).

Has anyone run both fuels and found any difference performance and/or maintenance wise? $75.84 seems rather expensive. I've had my Stihl up and running less than a week and I've already burned through 1.5 quarts. The quarts were $10.99 each!!!!! I think the "does not cause cancer" is a pretty good reason to go with the Stihl fuel. That along with the video I'm embedding below.....This guy put new cylinders and heads to test each of the different fuels in the video.

upload_2020-11-10_17-16-57.png