In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

How do you rate Northern Warmth?

Discussion in 'The Pellet Bag' started by Saph, Mar 26, 2024.

?

Is the brand good?

1. Yes - Spruce is best

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Yes - Doug Fir is best

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Yes - Supreme Doug Fir is best

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Other - Response below

2 vote(s)
    100.0%
  1. Saph

Saph

Quick question. I'm a total newbie and to be honest I thought it'd be just "buy stove, put wood in, warm".

I had no idea there was this whole world of ash and BTU and etc etc etc and my head is spinning!

I've read the newbie guide, and will definitely be way more prepared next year, but I currently have the opportunity to buy from Northern Warmth. Do you guys have any experience with these? Pros? Cons?

I'm also trying to understand the whole "sister brand" thing and that maybe I need to look for those brands and it'd be the same?

Thanks for any input!

Attached Files:

wildwest and jtakeman like this.
  2. Saph

Saph

Found a post called: "Are northern warmth supreme Douglas fir with $400 a ton?" that helped a bunch. I didn't realize "with" was supposed to be "worth" lol. I'm assuming nothing much has changed in 5 years?

wildwest likes this.
  3. jtakeman

jtakeman Moderator

Both the Doug Firs burn super clean meaning very little ash. Lowest I have tested ever. Higher BTU's than any other wood pellet. Only pellet that claimed higher was that made from coffee grounds. Coffee Pellets also burned cleaner.

Affordability. Also the highest cost per pound than any other pallet.

Comparing BTU's to the cost is where I had to draw the line. Usually can find a very clean SPF pellet that burn very clean and have high BTU's. You might save a little if money is an issue.

Last edited: Mar 26, 2024
    wildwest and Saph like this.
  4. Saph

Saph

Hmm. Sounds like "Great quality, but at what cost".