In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

First Pile/Season

Discussion in 'The Wood Pile' started by MJK Farm, Sep 11, 2017.

1. MJK Farm

MJK Farm

IMG_2731.JPG

I am new to FHC and wood heating. I am working on my first pile and developing my wood lot. Here is my set up so far with wood for this winter in the back of the picture under the tarp and the small stack in the foreground is what will become my seasoning area for next year or the year after. It is mostly a tree that fell and took out power lines that I cut up and am splitting into pieces for seasoning. There were burn marks on the tree that took out the power line!

I am using railroad ties I found on the back the property for the seasoning stack. The covered stack is sitting mostly on old pallets.

Horkn, FatBoy85, M2theB and 19 others like this.
  2. Canadian border VT

Canadian border VT

looks great.. rail road ties are perfect for getting it up off the ground! Nice pics.. OK if a standard cord is 4 by 4 by 8 or 128 feet.. how many cords do you have dry for this winter.. hard to tell from pics but looks like you may be short for winter.. which depending on where in Maine can start in less than a month

Mag Craft, Horkn, FatBoy85 and 9 others like this.
  3. MJK Farm

MJK Farm

Canadian border VT, not the first time I have heard that :eek:.

Under the tarp is 2 cord and the stuff I got off that tree that fell that is lying around to be split is maybe 1 (green). I am going to have to unfortunately purchase some seasoned this winter to get started as I don't have a backlog seasoned from previous years. I have a large oak down in the back I am going to work on this weekend, but that'll be for years in the future.

Appreciate the input! :cool:

Horkn, tamarack, FatBoy85 and 11 others like this.
  4. Canadian border VT

Canadian border VT