In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Took cottonwood to get Norway maple. Bad move?

Discussion in 'The Wood Pile' started by Jonathan Y, Aug 14, 2024 at 11:50 AM.

1. Jonathan Y

Jonathan Y

A tree service buddy said he would drop me off some big Noway maple logs if I would also take "some cottonwood" from the same job.

I'm a sucker for Norway maple, so I agreed. The maple was a nice big tree, and I got some bonus crab apple!

The cottonwood, however, is an absolute monster. It was "only" about 48" dbh, but the trunk must have been at least 30" diameter 100 feet up. I got an obscene number of big logs. Or maybe I got 2 or 3 trees?

You can see some of the logs here. Nice and muddy, too.

20240503_163239-1.jpg

20240506_102614.jpg

I hate dealing with this crap. It is back breaking when green and hard to split. It splits better if I let it dry in rounds for a while, but the layer right under the bark gets nasty and full of worms if I don't process it within a few weeks. (Sort of like box elder)

I'm going to cut it into rounds and throw a big tarp over the rounds until next spring. Anyone ever try that?

I've probably processed a half dozen big cottonwoods over the years. I always say "never again," but the tree services seem to sneak one in every year or two.

2. MikeInMa

MikeInMa

Why cover with a tarp? It would dry faster exposed to sun and air. Any rain or snow won't matter to it.

3. jo191145

jo191145

I’ve never had any but you certainly have enough to formulate a concrete opinion LOL

I’d consider letting it sit until the bark falls off. Sounds like Tulip, Tree of Heaven and even black locust in regards to the layer under the bark. Gets wet under there and never dries out.

4. wildwest

wildwest Moderator

Still BTU's. Sure, stinky and burns fast, but still wood.

Eric VW, buZZsaw BRAD, Horkn and 6 others like this.
  5. Eric Wanderweg

Eric Wanderweg