In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Woodstock Absolute Steel Pipe Temperature Higher than Normal

Discussion in 'Modern EPA Stoves and Fireplaces' started by Troutbum, Jan 14, 2021.

1. Troutbum

Troutbum

I have had this Absolute Steel since they first came out. I am far from an expert and would like advise/thoughts from people who know more than I. The stove has been burning well all season, with the pipe temp around 300 and the stove top temp usually reaching around 500. Recently, the pipe temp has been climbing to around 350 and the stove top temp maybe stayed the same or maybe climbed slightly to 525-550. I don't know why the change. I am a bit paranoid because this stove warped and was repaired a few years back (there was a gap between the metal and the gasket that seals the bipass flap). I don't see any warping, but maybe need to inspect it further. I wonder if maybe there's air leaking in from the firebox to the top section of the stove where cat is housed? Thanks for any help.

Camber likes this.
  2. Camber

Camber

I had the same thing happen to mine, even though I never overfired it. After the thin metal around the cat housing warped, and cracked I took it out and welded it up solid. The door gasket was a tiny bit worn, so after replacing that the flue temp was ok. I found I had to replace the gaskets 2 a year, but my burn season is from sept to end May.
    Let it cool down and clean, and check it very closely. It is built very light duty inside. Good luck. Let us know what you found.!

p.s. I had to remove the AS from my house. I just straight burn with it in my garage. I really like the big glass.

3. Eckie

Eckie

I thought I wanted an AS...buy there are a couple threads that are concerning me now...

4. Troutbum

Troutbum