In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Recommendations for Fiberglass entry door

Discussion in 'The DIY Room' started by Dana B, Jan 10, 2021.

1. Dana B

Dana B

We need to replace the front entry door on our home and I know next to nothing about doors. I have been reading a little and the only thing I'm certain of at this point is that we want fiberglass. Beyond that I don't know what to look for in door or what brand to go with. I've seen much written online aboput Pella, Anderson, Masonite, Thermatrue etc etc but good and bad for all of these and other brands.

Can someone provide some ingiht into these brands and what features I should be looking for? I live in NH so winters here are brutal. Also the door will have the windows on both sides.

Thanks.

mat60, wildwest and Camber like this.
  2. Camber

Camber

I'm a general contractor by trade. All I tell my customers is that they need to insure that they come with LOW E glass, and if they should ever want a storm door to get a door that is rated for that application. I don't install metal clad doors anymore. If you get a subpar fiberglass door and install a glass storm door expect to see the trim around the glass to distort and warp. I just looked at my phone to see if I have any pictures, but must have deleted them. As for brands, I like most except for Anderson. I believe their quality has gone down hill in the last ten years. with fiberglass you can paint and repair them much easier. If you have children or basement dwelling adult children, I heavily suggest a kick plate.

mat60, Dana B and wildwest like this.
  3. Dana B

Dana B

Thanks. Are there any mid level manufacturer lines that you would recommend looking at? We don't want low end but we don't to spend the money for top of the line either.

mat60 and Camber like this.
  4. Camber

Camber