In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Dutch oven/Tripod

Discussion in 'The Smokehouse' started by MikeyB, Dec 26, 2019.

1. MikeyB

MikeyB

just picked up a Lodge 12”/6qt Camp Dutch oven and 60” tripod this morning. The tripod was not wide enough to fit around my fire pit so I drilled some angled 3/4” holes in the cinder blocks for the legs to fit in and make it rock solid. Never cooked in a Dutch oven before and will look at doing a beef stew or a chili this weekend, any tips or advice from the more experienced? Thanks.

Attached Files:

J. Dirt, Stlshrk, FatBoy85 and 6 others like this.
  2. jtstromsburg

jtstromsburg

Looks great! I’m no expert , but cook with cast iron regularly and also have a tripod I use when camping. If the Dutch oven isn’t seasoned already, give it a good rub with whatever oil you prefer (I like avocado) and slowly heat it to make the surface more slickery . My other advice is, especially if you’re not used to cast iron, keep the heat lower than you’d think at first as it easy to get it too hot and burn the bottom of everything. I always toss a couple/few coals on the lid to heat from above also.

Other expert tip, lots of pics !

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

3. MikeyB

MikeyB

Nice set up, thanks

4. yooperdave

yooperdave

Used to make a cobbler in the firepit with the dutch oven.

5. RabbleRouser

RabbleRouser

First and foremost, don't cook over a fire, cook over a bed of coals. Like others said, some coals on top make everything better. I haven't yet but I've seen several people bake some real nice camp bread in them. Lots & lots of videos on youtube and vimeo.

I use Flax oil to season cast iron, it's essentially unrefined Linseed oil so it polymerizes and leaves a really good coating on it. Burn it in and keep rubbing it down to make it nice and smooth. Better than Teflon if you do it right.