In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Newbie here

Discussion in 'Modern EPA Stoves and Fireplaces' started by Patrick MO, Nov 8, 2019.

1. Patrick MO

Patrick MO

I've been snooping around here for a few weeks and enjoy all the good info. We just bought a house in August that has a fireplace insert and I've never had a fireplace in my life. So, I was just wondering if anyone had any experience with a country flame E1? Any and all advice is more than welcome. TIA

2. coreboy83

coreboy83

Hello, welcome to the club. My advice, get ahead on your wood ! I have a tree service that I text whenever I’m ready for a load.

3. MikeInMa

MikeInMa

Welcome, Patrick.

You might benefit from this, and other documents, that can be found above in "Resources".

Primer on Woodburning by Backwoods Savage

Regarding your specific insert, I'm sure someone will chime in with info.

4. Patrick MO

Patrick MO

That's what I've been reading, I definitely need to get ahead on wood. I bought a cord of "seasoned" oak which isn't bad but not as dry as it could be. I have a moisture meter and most fresh splits are low 20's MC.

5. Patrick MO

Patrick MO

I read this, good read. I definitely need some dryer wood. I bought a cord of "seasoned" oak which isn't bad but the MC is low 20's.

6. Scotty Overkill

Scotty Overkill Administrator

Welcome to the club, we're glad to have you....

I'm not familiar with the insert you questioned, but whatever you choose to do, please make sure your flue/fireplace is inspected to be sure it's all safe.

Glad to have you along for the ride with us!

7. Mwalsh9152

Mwalsh9152