In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Yep - Another Momma Bear

Discussion in 'Non-EPA Woodstoves and Fireplaces' started by Born2Burn, Aug 23, 2021.

1. Born2Burn

Born2Burn

Looks like these are all the rage again!

Just picked it up tonight. $223 off Facebook marketplace. Not the best condition but definitely safe and good for my use! One front leg is a bit twisted and the top is heavily pitted. Otherwise it looks really good. Judging by the tight door pins and no louver slop, I don't think it's been used much. No cracks or warping.

I will try and fix the leg but I'm no pro with metal working.

Bricks need replaced - I would have done them anyway. Are the brick holders supposed to be angled like that?

Definitely want to install a baffle. One thing at a time.

Someone was an artist!
    20210823_211323.jpg 20210823_211334.jpg 20210823_211546.jpg 20210823_211555.jpg 20210823_211601.jpg 20210823_211743.jpg

2. Lastmohecken

Lastmohecken

The angles are straight in mine.

3. Born2Burn

Born2Burn

I've read that these can bend like this from excessive heat. I think someone ran mine with the tops of the bricks broken off but besides the warped angle irons, the unit is solid. The top is severely rust pitted but oh well - for me it's ment to be used not look good.

Have some free time on my hands so I've been doing some tinkering. Got the unit stripped down, cleaned up, and painted. I got somewhat of a deal on firebrick yesterday at tractor supply - 50 cents off because they had them advertised for the wrong price. Suckers are 4$ each these days!! I got 30 but think I will be returning some.