In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Woodlot Management

Discussion in 'The Wood Pile' started by Woodslave, Dec 11, 2017.

1. Woodslave

Woodslave

Just wondering if any members are into managing their woodlots for wildlife. Seems everything I do to improve my woods is too benefit the wildlife in one form or another. I've been at it for quite a few years, making clearings for food plots, opening the canopy for new growth. Any tree's I cut I use the tops for brush piles I can definitely see the benefit as I have more Partridge around more snowshoe rabbits. Releasing apple tree's, some have better growth and production. I did learn a tough lesson with releasing apple tree's too quickly. I cleared some Balsam Fir tree's around a few Apple tree's. Got some heavy wet snow that broke a lot of limbs on those apple tree's. I've been clearing in a small field for a few years just making it larger. It's now about 150 yards long, I keep finding more Apple tree's, that's a good thing. That's a hunting shack in the background of the second picture, gotta be comfortable hunting as I get older. KIMG0425.jpg KIMG0426.jpg

2. NH mountain man

NH mountain man

Good that you are doing that, I try to do what I can as well with what I have to work with. I find all I have to do is plant the garden every year and then I have all kinds of wildlife.:hair:

3. Ejp1234

Ejp1234

Yes, a few hundred acres of corn or soybeans each year seems to keep the deer very happy lmao!!

Good on you!

Flatlander Pete, Horkn, RCBS and 5 others like this.
  4. Woodslave

Woodslave

I live in farm country, agriculture everywhere. I'm cutting tree's anyway, might as well get as much out of it as possible

5. Ejp1234

Ejp1234