In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Wood stove going out ..

Discussion in 'Non-EPA Woodstoves and Fireplaces' started by thegreatpotato, Nov 28, 2017.

1. thegreatpotato

thegreatpotato

ok guys im having another problem now to with my stove, it burns great somedays and somedays its a mofo to keep lit, what should i do ? should i extend my pipe ? its already 3ft over my roof, and i was thinking drastic drill a few more air holes ? of corse ide make it so its still controllable, but i dont know what to do. My flue is only about 7-8 ft i have two turns in it but there both 43 degree angels, but like i said some days it works so good and somedays just wont stay lit, i honestly think its my house isnt putting out enough air for the stove. I live in a small home . and from what i researched this stove should be good for us but its like its just not getting enough air. I am new to woodstoves though. it does keep the house very nicely warm the days it works. and its only been installed for about 2 months so it cant be pipe blockage ... i dont think . anyone want to chime in ? If i leave the door just cracked so slightly it burns great , but soon as i close it it dies out, the vents on the front are holes with a slide plate to open and close them, the holes are letting in a lot of air just seems its not enough.

2. papadave

papadave

Hey there thegreatpotato , welcome aboard.
    First question......when did the firewood get split and stacked?
    If the flue is only 7-8' with a couple 43s (45s?), you effectively have choked the ability of the stove to breath. Each of those elbows takes some length away (it's worse for 90s).
    You'd be surprised how quickly a flue can get clogged if the stove isn't running well/is smoldering/or you're trying to burn wet wood.
    What are your outdoor temps like when it doesn't burn well, and what are they when it does burn well?