In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Whitfield Advantage pellet stove, vacuum switch question..

Discussion in 'Pellet Stoves, Pellet Fireplaces, Pellet Furnaces' started by Fmt2bx, Feb 24, 2020.

1. Fmt2bx

Fmt2bx

Hello,

Newbie here :rolleyes:. I have this Advantage 2T stand alone pellet stove. It is a 1994 and came with the house we just got.
    It was in pretty bad shape, ashes everywhere, vent was plugged up with more ashes, found dead bird along with more ashes in exhaust manifold.. I went through everything (using the internet), cleaned everything up, replaced door gasket, replaced exhaust motor seal, oiled the motors as per instruction, cleaned auger motor, checked the bushing, aside from the seals, it seemed to be all there.

Fired it up ( manual ignition) and it worked great. Kept it running (outdoor) for hours , all good.

As I was going through the unit, I wanted to check the safety vacuum switch (single barb, neg pole). I disconnectected the hose (Vac switch to exhaust housing) and fired it up.. It kept running, the auger motor never stopped as it would have (from my understanding).

So I disconnected the leads to vacuum with and tested the switch. Sitting on its own not connected to stove and with electric leads removed, the switch is CLOSED. (?)

Should it be?????

I can't wrapped my head around this one.. Imagine, the hose breaking and later the exhaust motor failing, the auger would keep feeding???? Can't be right..

Anyway, if someone could tell me if these pressure switches are supposed to be closed in a non operating stove.

Thank you.

Here are some pics.

IMG_6760.jpg IMG_6767.jpg IMG_6766.jpg

Attached Files:

2. Snowy Rivers

Snowy Rivers

I have the exact same stove.

The switch is a "Pressure switch" and is a "Normally closed switch" N/C

This switch is there to protect from a plugged vent.