In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

What mill do you recommend?

Discussion in 'The Sawyer Room' started by Holland Dell, Jan 12, 2021.

1. Holland Dell

Holland Dell

In my defense, I tried to search this forum for an answer to my question and came up empty. If this question is redundant, tuff tiddies.:deadhorse::D So here it is, I'm new to milling. I looked at the pros and cons to an Alaskan style mill, but think a portable bandsaw mill is a better choice for me. I don't need a commercial or hydraulic unit, but something to play with, stack a few boards and help out friends and neighbors with that random log. I have plenty of logs of my own to keep me busy as well. I'd like to stay below $10,000.00. Comfort spot would be $6 - 8,000.00. Milling 9-12 foot logs 25-30 inches, but flexible on this if the money isn't terrible. Thanks for the help.

Murphy681, Jack Straw, mat60 and 2 others like this.
  2. JB Sawman

JB Sawman

the best advice I could give you is if this virus stuff ever ends and you could get to a timber or woodsmans show you could look at a lot of mills at once I shopped for a while and looked at a lot of mills I went with wood mizer and have been very pleased with their support any machine can have problems and the backup help was great all the manual mills will cut good lumber just depends what features you want engine size is important and if you are leaving set up or being portable one thing to look at is the log clamping dogs they really take abuse and a sturdy clamp is important Hope this helps you out JB

Murphy681, mat60 and Screwloose like this.
  3. Holland Dell

Holland Dell