In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Waste not, want not.

Discussion in 'The Wood Pile' started by Buck55, Nov 22, 2020.

1. Buck55

Buck55

I know I am not the only one who does this. :D

After I am done splitting I will rake up the debris and sort out and box up the splinters for kindling. I'll usually store a half dozen or so boxes above the garage and when it's time for fire the splinters are perfect for starting.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Chris F

Chris F

I've been doing this for a few years now too. I store them in five gallon plastic pails and when the one inside by the furnace is empty I take it out to the old chicken coop where I store them and replace it with a full one.
    They dry easily in a year being so small.

3. amateur cutter

amateur cutter

I save one pail full only. With the boiler it usually only gets lit up once. The rest gets raked up & composted.

4. Chazsbetterhalf

Chazsbetterhalf

We use metal garbage cans.

5. Spencer

Spencer

Its a great idea to do this, i am just too lazy lol. I usually split in the woods so i just leave the mess out there.

6. Sandhillbilly

Sandhillbilly

I use lick tubs. Every time I pack wood into the house I fill a bucket with splitter shards. Lasts awhile because once the burn season really gets going I don’t have many cold starts

7. Chud

Chud

Mine go into the stacks, so with each pickup load, or bag brought into the house there are several strips included. Some wood, I think ash and Hickory leave piles of smaller splinters that I leave in the yard. Oak is good for producing longer thin strips.

8. billb3

billb3

We still have a few 50 gallon plastic garbage cans from years ago when garbage was done that way. They are starting to crack and fall apart from age and also squirrels chewing holes in them. When they are finally put to rest might have to start using/repurposing Amazon boxes.

9. metalcuttr