In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Tips on smoking pork shoulder..

Discussion in 'The Smokehouse' started by fordguy64, Aug 6, 2018.

1. fordguy64

fordguy64

so the last half pig we purchesed we got 3 giant 15-16 pound pork shoulders.. I’m relatively new to smoking (less than a year) so I’m looking for some tips on how to smoke something like this.

I’ve seen estamites at 2hr per pound for pork shoulders. That sound right? With a finish temp of 200*

Any other words of advice?

Chaz, FatBoy85, MikeyB and 3 others like this.
  2. TurboDiesel

TurboDiesel

I wouldn't think it would take 30 hours but 15 lbs is a big pork butt. yes 190-200 is a good temp. then wrap it in foil and let it rest a while before pulling it

3. Eric VW

Eric VW Moderator

I wrap the pork at 165° F and put back til 185°F
    Let it rest for 30 minutes then pull...

4. Chvymn99

Chvymn99 Moderator

What temperature are cooking it at? I know mine go 16-20 hrs normally, but I don’t think mine are quite that big from Costco. I trip to run 225 F on the smoker till the butt hits 205F.... then let it rest...

5. TurboDiesel

TurboDiesel

There's a whole lot of fat in that fat-cap that needs to render out. Most of that happens at the last stage. I always start fat-cap up, but I quite often turn the fat-cap down for the last few hours to let that really greasy stuff drip out. This also protects the good meat from drying out and getting hard as its not towards the high heat. Worst case, the fat cap sticks to the grill.

225 degrees is best. 250 - 275 at the start wont hurt but dont get over 275. It takes some time to get the cooker temp to stay steady at 225-250 as the meat goes on cold and as the meat warms up the cooker temp will climb.