In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

★★★★★ Timberline Chainsaw Sharpener

Discussion in 'Everything Else' started by Justin B, Oct 28, 2016.

1. Justin B

Justin B

I mentioned my sharpening issues several weeks ago in this thread.

I cut driftwood only, so my workplace is always the beach. Rocks, gravel, and sand abound. I sweep off my logs before cutting them, but moist wood attracts small rocks, sand, shells, etc. I find myself needing to sharpen frequently.

I initially used my neighbour's bench-top electric sharpener. It got the job done, but has lost pieces over the years and relies on a lot of jury-rigging to make it work. It also meant that I had to leave the beach to get to the sharpener, spend 20 minutes setting it up, and then 15 minutes sharpening. The job was never ideal, but it worked.

At the beach, I've used a file as suggested but I'm new to this and the job isn't close to perfect. Also, due to my newness to this method it takes a great deal of time for me to get through the entire chain.

A battery-powered rotary tool and grinding bit seemed like a good idea, but once again, my new-to-this eyes are not great at dialling-in on 35°.

Enter the Timberline Chainsaw Sharpener. I haven't seen a review on FHC (maybe due to everyone's level of experience being high?) so here it goes.

[​IMG]

-The box containers the tool (including the carbide sharpening bit), a carrying case, and an allen key for locking the carbide into the handle.

[​IMG]

-The assembled tool

[​IMG]

- The tool clamps on to the bar. The chain travels freely through the tool.

[​IMG]

- The carbide slides through the guide, then between the tooth and the pawl. Four or five quick turns of the handle, and the tooth is perfectly sharpened. The entire 20" chain took 18 minutes, including first-time setup. I'm pretty sure that this will reduce to 10 minutes or so.

[​IMG]