In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Sunfish in the shallows

Discussion in 'The Game Room' started by hovlandhomestead, May 24, 2019.

1. hovlandhomestead

hovlandhomestead

We are about 2 weeks behind so it is mostly pumkinseed in the shallows now, with a few bluegill, bass and pike mixed in for good measure. The fishing will be good now through mid July. Large male bluegill will be on beds in about 10-14 days.

Here is a specimen from this morning:

upload_2019-5-24_8-9-34.png

Anyone else targeting panfish this spring?

2. Scout80

Scout80

Hovl, you sire have your priorities straight.
    I love the picture.

Horkn, metalcuttr, Boogeyman and 6 others like this.
  3. Chvymn99

Chvymn99 Moderator

That’s some good Flathead bait....:D... I remember back when I was a junior or sophomore in high school. My brother was working overnights, we had a very wet year that spring into summer. We’d bait our limb lines on the banks of the river at night. I’d check the limb lines in the morning. I’d go through out the day to the several ponds in town, to keep our bait supply up. He’d get off work just time to help clean the days catch. Caught many flatheads, channels cats, and blue Catfish.... aww the times of the youth...

Hellcat, eatonpcat, Horkn and 10 others like this.
  4. hovlandhomestead

hovlandhomestead

That sounds like a great summer to me. I have never fished for catfish, but they are pretty plentiful in the Mississippi and Minnesota rivers near my home. It is not legal to use sunfish for bait, but I think the folks that fish them here use bullheads.

5. metalcuttr

metalcuttr