In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Seasoning Times

Discussion in 'The Wood Pile' started by bbqhunter, Dec 15, 2014.

1. bbqhunter

bbqhunter

Hi everyone, I just joined up and I don't know why I haven't found you all earlier, this is my kinda place. I've been splitting wood for about 34 years now, and I most burned in a large open fireplace, just for the looks and cooking, love cooking in my fireplace. "Dirty

But things have changed for me and I purchased a new Regency CI2600 insert, if anyone has an opinion this unit, I'd love to hear it.

Besides all that I've never really paid much attention to proper seasoning time for different species of wood.
    But with the new insert that I'm trying to run 24/7 to heat my house, I want good wood that is seasoned properly.

I have a moisture meter and I believe the moisture content should be between 16 - 20%

I just had a tree company give me about 3 cords of white oak un-split for free. I have a new Stihl 591 - 20 in chain saw and after 34 years of using the same ol' splitter from Northern "Hydraulics" I decided to give her a rest and purchased a Dirty Hand Tool 34 Ton horizontal & vertical splitter.

Ok so with all that said and done, can you all start to fill me in on proper seasoning time for Red Oak - White Oak - Hickory - Ash and Maple.

After I split the wood, I'll be storing it over pallets, with a very large hoop house that will hold 6 cords and cover mostly the top but leave about 4 ft open on the sides.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post and I'd appreciate any help getting set on the right path.

2. WaddleRemodel

WaddleRemodel

Welcome to the madness it is addicting. :) Lots of info here. Go to resources read everything. It is life changing.:bug:Mostly sit back and enjoy the ride.

3. bbqhunter

bbqhunter