In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Regency GCI60 Control Panel Issue

Discussion in 'Pellet Stoves, Pellet Fireplaces, Pellet Furnaces' started by JasonG, Feb 23, 2022.

1. JasonG

JasonG

I've been having an issue with the control panel for a while where the buttons sometimes don't work. Seems to be mostly the power button, but the heat levels as well sometimes. I can turn the unit on by pushing to switch to "automatic" and then switching back to manual, and this switch is on the same board, so I'm assuming it's just a bad connection from the buttons on the board.

I have zero soldering experience, but I'm pretty handy, so is that something worth trying, or should I just look to get a new panel?

My other question is how you get this panel out. Hoping someone who is familiar with this until would know how because I have looked at it in the past and couldn't figure out how to get to it.

CleanFire and imacman like this.
  2. imacman

imacman

Have you you tried unplugging the unit for a minute? Not saying that will cure it, but it sometimes will "reset" the electronics.

CleanFire likes this.
  3. JasonG

JasonG

Yes, did that a few times, but same issue. It seems to be a physical issue with the buttons.

imacman likes this.
  4. badbob

badbob

As far as removal,don't have a clue. But,it has regular switches on the board, underneath the button cover. So if you can get it out you can clean them with contact cleaner. Also something else to try, unplug stove, then unplug the control panel from the control board, plug back in. May have some corrosion on the pins.

schoondog, imacman and CleanFire like this.
  5. CleanFire

CleanFire

The "daughter board" is usually attached from the back -> into the (visible) outer overlay frame, with screws. .. It should unscrew from the back (inside of stove), to detach.

imacman and badbob like this.
  6. JasonG

JasonG