In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Question about stacking wood: single deep versus more, covering

Discussion in 'The Wood Pile' started by Lil'John, Oct 19, 2014.

1. Lil'John

Lil'John

I'm a newbie wood burner and I'm now trying to figure out a permanent solution for my wood storage.

First and easiest question: I should only cover the top of the wood with a tarp. There should be no concern with the wood getting wetter because of the exposed ends. Correct?

In looking at a lot of the threads dealing with stacking woods, I usually see single row deep. Is there a reason not to go two or three deep with seasoned wood? Is there a minimum spacing between rows?

Stinny likes this.
  2. Lumber-Jack

Lumber-Jack

3. bigbarf48

bigbarf48

Yes, top cover only

With seasoned wood, you can stack it in as tight and deep as you want

With green wood that you want to season, how many rows you stack in has everything to do with the space you have and the time you have for the wood to season. Double or triple rows won't have a big effect on seasoning time if the stacks get adequate sun and wind. A big cube like many here use is best when you're years ahead on wood and have time to make sure the center is dry

I don't have space in my yard for long single rows, so I stack two rows to a pallet, and also had some 4 deep stacks with over a foot between them. Did not notice any adverse drying effects

Drvn4wood, Mitch Newton and dylskee like this.
  4. Lil'John

Lil'John

One somewhat related question... what would be a preferred minimum distance from a wood structure like a garage wall? My concern is insect activity going from firewood to garage.

5. Paul bunion

Paul bunion