In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Pallet racks for firewood changed how I make em

Discussion in 'The Wood Pile' started by mikeward, Jun 27, 2017.

Tags:
  1. mikeward

mikeward

I've been using pallets like this for 10 years or so.
    The first pallet racks I made were built so I could take them apart and break them down flat as I used the wood. I still have the first ones I built this way and they work well but are too much work and cost to keep making.
    Can't beat it.
    It's my pallets free. The oak pallets are used for racks and I take crummy oak ones apart for boards for uprights and sides. I Put old ones or pine pallets under the wood pallets as sacrificial ones to keep the wood pallets off the ground.

The first pics are the old pallet racks which are now 10 years old and still in use

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jun 27, 2017
  2. mikeward

mikeward

These pics are how I'm making the pallet racks now
    All wood is from pallets taken apart
    The empty ones are on their side so I can move them with a hand truck
    You have to look close but there are two strands of wire across each of the uprights.
    Wire is unwoven from black chain link fence. It holds up well and keeps sides from spreading when I'm moving with tractor.

Attached Files:

Horkn, Gark, KsKent and 8 others like this.
  3. mikeward

mikeward

I'm a hoarder, I admit it!
    And I find I'm a bit anal about how I split wood by species
    I have mostly oak the oldest is from hurricane Sandy 5 years old. Lots and lots of Oak.
    All split and stacked together.
    Just finished splitting all the cherry I've been saving

Attached Files:

Horkn, Kyle Mulligan, BZOR and 12 others like this.
  4. FatBoy85

FatBoy85

Nice!