In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Oversize/Extra Large Insert Help

Discussion in 'Modern EPA Stoves and Fireplaces' started by Rush Battle, Oct 22, 2019.

1. Rush Battle

Rush Battle

Howdy all, hoping for some help finding a good solution for some wasteful chimneys. I have a few 42” by 29” high by 30” deep masonry fireplaces. I know, it’s terrible. The biggest inserts I have found are 3 cubic feet firebox, and far smaller than the dimensions of the fireplaces. I think I have looked all over, but does anyone have an efficient cat insert that’s larger than something like the Lopi Hybrid-Fyre Large Insert? It looks pretty good, but I’m a total novice and looking for advice. It makes sense to me that a larger machine would hold more wood fuel therefore burn longer, and use more material as a heat sink to share with the room. The hearth sticks out about 14” from the front of the fireplace and I am not opposed to an insert that utilizes that space. Any help, advice, insight, etc., would be appreciated. Thank you, and have a great week!
    Rush

2. Locust Post

Locust Post

First off welcome aboard. My Buck 91 is good sized but no bigger than what you mentioned. The new inserts can already give you long burn times without putting the whole kitchen table in the firebox. You do not need to fill that whole space with stove, just a nice close out panel. The other option would be a free standing stove maybe with a rear flue exhaust.

3. RGrant

RGrant

I have a question or two and maybe a solution- possibly.

First- are any of the open hearths part of a chimney system where the backing of the hearth is still inside the house? Like a centrally placed fireplace? OR are they all on external walls?