In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

New Smoker.

Discussion in 'The Smokehouse' started by Mag Craft, Mar 25, 2017.

1. Mag Craft

Mag Craft

I am new to smoking and I bought a smoker that has the main grill with a firebox on the side. So I seasoned it some for 3 hours 3 days ago and today I decided to try it out.
    So what I smoked was a boneless skinless half of chicken breast for my wife and myself. I have a old weber that I burn the wood in for the coals and then transfer them to the smoker. I used some very dry cotton wood for the coals and once the smoker was hot enough I then added some apple and hickory chunks for the main smoke. It took me 3 1/2 hours to get the chicken breast to 165 with a meat thermometer. The outside of the chicken formed this thin layer on it that was a little chewey but had some very good smoke flavor to it. The chicken was very moist inside and I was very pleased with the results. I started out cooking at 250 degrees but for the last hour I cranked it up to 350 to get the chicken done.

My question is does this sound normal to you guys. I was surprised at the thin layer that it formed on the outside of the chicken and was wondering if this was normal also.

I forgot to add that I used a rub on both sides of the chicken and nothing else.

2. Babaganoosh

Babaganoosh

Chicken does that when you cook low and slow. A lot of people jack up the temperature at the end to crisp is up.

3. Eric VW

Eric VW Moderator

I got a similarly described unit last summer, but all I've tried smoking on it was Boston Butt :drool:.... I should try some other cuts and other meats.
    Glad you've pulled the trigger on the smoker!:thumbs:
    I think you probably did well.:handshake:

4. Mag Craft

Mag Craft