In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Mixed Messages on Chain Sharpening Aids

Discussion in 'Chainsaws and Power Equipment' started by Enzed Bill, Feb 17, 2018.

1. Enzed Bill

Enzed Bill

Hi All

This happened a couple of days ago, and I've been pondering it since but haven't been able to come to a conclusion.

I decided I wanted a stump vise so I went to a local (NZ) site to price them and while I was there I saw a contraption for mounting on the chain bar to aid sharpening. This was very intriguing to me because I hate sharpening chains and I'm not very good at it (and don't use my chainsaw enough to get a lot of practice). So I watched a couple of videos on these devices and one in particular that appeared to be the exact one for sale, and I was surprised at how flimsy and wobbly they seemed. The operator didn't even seem to be able to get good even stokes in with this thing. So much for that.

But you know how it is on youtube: one video leads to another - and I found myself watching a review by 'Wranglerstar' of the Stihl "2 in 1" sharpener. I'm not a fanboy or anything, but I've seen a few of his videos and find him generally credible.

Well, it was such a glowing review that I couldn't wait to get into the shops the next day to buy one. If you can't be bothered sitting through 15 minutes of video, what it boils down to is that he says it's foolproof, it sharpens better that he could do with a simple hand file (despite his considerable experience) and his chainsaw cuts quicker and smoother than it ever has.

But ... I was a little troubled. Early on in the video he remarks that the orientation angle on the handle doesn't seem to be right for his chain, so he ignores it. Later he says that the cut seems to be more aggressive than Stihl chains usually are (though he likes the result and doesn't find it bogging in the cut).