In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

MF Fire Nova 2?

Discussion in 'Modern EPA Stoves and Fireplaces' started by Benedict Lumberthatch, Jul 16, 2021.

1. Benedict Lumberthatch

Benedict Lumberthatch

Hello there, new to the forum! I've been processing and burning my own firewood for about 10 years now but up until this point I've just been using about a cord per year for an open fireplace and firepit outside. Building a new house this year and decided to put in a stove as a heat source in the winter. I was thinking about the Nova 2 from MF Fire. Has anyone on here had experience with this company in general or this stove in particular?

Any insight would be much appreciated! Never used one of these EPA stoves before.

2. Backwoods Savage

Backwoods Savage Moderator

Sorry I don't know a thing about that stove. In your area I'd think you would need a pretty good stove and burn a whole lot more than a cord of wood.

Welcome to the forum too. Glad to have you and we have a few others from your state too.

You might find this helpful: Primer on Woodburning by Backwoods Savage | Firewood Hoarders Club

MikeInMa, M2theB, Slocum and 3 others like this.
  3. Horkn

Horkn

Welcome to FHC!!!

Is that the nova insert or freestanding stove?

4. Luke

Luke

The Nova is a single burn rate stove. You control it by how much wood you feed it. I don't think it will give you long slow burn times.

5. Benedict Lumberthatch

Benedict Lumberthatch

Thanks for the primer! I gave it a read last night and it has some very helpful information in it. Wood stoves are new territory for me so I found that information especially useful.