In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Kinda off track but

Discussion in 'The Smokehouse' started by moresnow, Apr 16, 2018.

1. moresnow

moresnow

I just started playing with a new instant pot. Spare ribs were outstanding. Corned beef/cabbage was also. Anyone else using this cooker? Guessing I am late to the Insant Pot party! Normal for me....

brenndatomu, Horkn, wildwest and 3 others like this.
  2. TurboDiesel

TurboDiesel

Never heard of it .
    :binoculars:

:sherlock:

brenndatomu, Horkn, wildwest and 2 others like this.
  3. TurboDiesel

TurboDiesel

Ok. Now I see...someone reinvented the wheel.:yes:

:handshake:

brenndatomu, Horkn, wildwest and 4 others like this.
  4. moresnow

moresnow

Hope some others have been using this and will comment. It really surprised me. Figured it was just another counter top decoration that wifey dreamt up..... I was wrong. This thing is nice.

5. Babaganoosh

Babaganoosh

It's a pressure cooker.

Ribs have no business being put into a pressure cooker....

6. VOLKEVIN

VOLKEVIN

The mother in law got one for Christmas. It’s a pretty legit kitchen tool, and we are the beneficiaries of the tasty stuff she makes in it!

7. fishingpol

fishingpol

I have never cooked a meal in one, but use it for pre-cooking chicken thighs for the grill.

I also cook potatoes for mashed and butternut squash. 6 minutes for all of the above when the jiggler weight is going.

8. NortheastAl

NortheastAl

We still use a standard pressure cooker. Might get an instant pot one day.

9. MaineMtnMan

MaineMtnMan

Used it for corned beef and it was outstanding!

10. Warner

Warner

Wife got one for Xmas used it for every thing from oat meal to cooking a whole frozen chicken in 45 min. It works well but the flavors don’t have much time to develope like simmering something for hours.

brenndatomu, wildwest and NortheastAl like this.
  11. savemoney