In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

High Quality Moisture Meters??

Discussion in 'Everything Else (off topic)' started by bassJAM, Nov 22, 2016.

1. bassJAM

bassJAM

One of the current projects I have at work is redesigning packaging for donuts to address "dried out" customer comments. Being an engineer, I want a quantitative method to determine dried out vs good donuts, but our food technologists group has insisted the only test is a qualitative method: feel and eat the donuts to determine what's good and what's bad at the end of shelf life.

That wasn't good enough for me since personal tastes are a little different. I tried weighing them to determine if weight loss was a factor but that's given me inconclusive results, and then it hit me that I've got a moisture meter at home that just might tell me what I need to know. Turns out it works great!

Moisture test 1.jpg

Moisture test 2.jpg

Moisture test 3.jpg

Moisture test 4.jpg

It seems the sweet spot is somewhere between 33% and 40%, my next step is to determine what's the cut-off point: what percentage is acceptable, what is marginal, and what is unacceptable so I can then create a specification around moisture and design the packaging to meet that.

So I do have a question. I see moisture meters ranging from my $20 cheapo to $200 dollar units. Does anyone have those much more expensive ones, and are they that much more accurate? I get to buy one on the company's dime and I need to know that it'll be very accurate in the 30-40% moisture range.

Any recommendations?

Chvymn99, Shawn Curry and Horkn like this.
  2. papadave

papadave

Yeah.....no idea.
    However, why not use a sample group of donut eaters to get their opinion, and as they take a bite, you take a reading. Or, take your reading before the bite, so as to not release any moisture from the bite.