In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Felling ? Which notch to use?

Discussion in 'The Wood Pile' started by bogydave, Nov 7, 2016.

1. bogydave

bogydave

Alaska, North of Anchorage & South of Fairbanks
    Open face, conventional or Humbolt ?
    & why ?
    Different one for live & dead trees ?

I typically use the Humbolt. I get a straighter log end & trim off less wood to start cutting rounds.

Link: Logging eTool - Making the Cuts - Kinds of Notches

ntchs.jpg
    ntch2.jpg

The open face don't break the hinge till the tree is at 90°
    The conventional & humbolt the hinge breaks at 45°
    Conventional seems to kick the log farther from the stump than the humbolt ?

Last edited: Nov 7, 2016
  2. bogydave

bogydave

3. Bluelou

Bluelou

First off I'm no EXPERT. I prefer humbolt and use conventional often. It's very hard for me to explain what methods I use. Before dropping a tree I spend quite abit of time looking at it,kinda like looking at a pretty women I'm looking up down and all around . Then I go buy what my gut and little bit of experience tells me . It's worked for me 99 percent off the time in the last 30 years. For the ones that go bad the man upstairs has always had my back and for that I'm very thankful.

4. Woodsnwoods

Woodsnwoods

I use open face 99% of the time. Why I have no idea, but I like the idea of keeping the hinge intact as long as possible.

5. Jon_E

Jon_E