In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Dolmar 7910 enough for milling?

Discussion in 'The Sawyer Room' started by Oldman47, Feb 19, 2017.

1. Oldman47

Oldman47

I have been considering using an Alaskan mill and was wondering if a Dolmar 7910 is enough to use an alaskan mill. Right now my biggest saw is a Husky 555 so I am thinking that any milling is going to require a new saw.

2. bocefus78

bocefus78

What size and type of wood are you planning on cutting?

I'm new to the milling scene, and use an 066. I personally wouldn't want to go any smaller...I can tell you that much. It's slow enough with 90some odd cc's!

Shawn Curry mdavlee thistle Barcroftb mike bayerl thewoodlands

Those guys can give you better info than I can

Barcroftb likes this.
  3. mike bayerl

mike bayerl

I've never actually run a chainsaw mill. I've been lucky enough to have some great (and cheap) sawyers with band saw mills near by.

4. bocefus78

bocefus78

Oops. My fault. I knew you had a bunch of Lumber. Assumptions and all that.

5. mike bayerl

mike bayerl

No problem. I'm usually the one posting on the CSM about how much cheaper, faster and accurate it is to hire out a portable BSM than to CSM. That said, my local sawyers are retiring and I may be looking toward getting myself into CSM sooner than later.

6. Jon1270

Jon1270

The 7900/791o has a reputation for not being able to deliver enough oil on bars longer than 28", even when bucking. Ripping demands even more lubrication, so you might need to rig an auxiliary oiler.

I think it would do well for widths in the 18-24" range, but larger than that and you might get impatient.

7. Oldman47

Oldman47