In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

been month's

Discussion in 'The Smokehouse' started by fuelrod, Jun 23, 2017.

1. fuelrod

fuelrod

No big news, pics or anything, but I unwrapped the smoker (put away for the winter) thursday and smoked a butt after a long winter with no "smoke'. Some garlic sausage and a few ribs found their way into the smoker for lunch.
    It's funny, I'm still new at this and I couldn't remember exactly what I had learned from previous butt's and didn't really care. I just needed to smoke one! It just got thawed in the shop refridg for a few days, Some generic grocery store rub, and double wrapped in foil. I didn't bother with the fancy thermometer & probe, injecting a brine, nothing, just let it cook all day and stuck it with a thermometer at the end of the day. It was around 210 or so I unwrapped (it dammear fell apart) it because I wanted some bark and saved the heavenly goodness left in the foil, pulled off a bunch of the fat and pulled the bone out. The coals were winding down and the smoker was under 200 so I threw a few hickory chunks on it and let it absorb some smoke while naked.
    Either it was the best one yet, or I was just so starved for smoked pulled pork that it seem'd that way. Either way I glad to have the smoker back out and the "fire" re-lit for smoking.
    The juice was amazing. I thought that it was prolly going to turn up being mostly fat. It wasn't, my last little burst for some bark did dry the outside a little and that juice came in handy after it was all pulled.

This was the smoker for most of the last several months:eek:
    DSCN8462.JPG

Chvymn99, VOLKEVIN and Eric VW like this.
  2. Eric VW

Eric VW Moderator

You wrap from the start and smoke at the end?

3. fuelrod

fuelrod