In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Bar tip question

Discussion in 'Chainsaws and Power Equipment' started by Eckie, Nov 22, 2020.

1. Eckie

Eckie

What would make a bar tip get hot like this? Was cutting green red maple when it happened. Whats that small hole for? Don't think my other bars have it...is it for grease?

2. mat60

mat60

Im no expert but the hole is for grease. Is your bar and chain getting oil and is your chain adjusted properly?

3. Chud

Chud

I’ve only had an issue with an 084 scorching sprockets on a 30” and 36” bar. The hole is for grease, but I never grease the sprocket. I may hit it with wd if it’s caked up or not rolling freely.

4. Eckie

Eckie

Yeah, tension was good and it seemed to be throwing oil fine. I.just noticed that little hole when I took the pic, like insaid dont remember there being one on all my other bars/previous bars. But they've always been stihl or oregon, this is a raptor. Didnt know if i should squirt some wd 40, or try to shove some grease in there

T.Jeff Veal, amateur cutter and mat60 like this.
  5. mat60

mat60

As Chud said make sure your sprocket it rolling freely.

6. Horkn

Horkn

You should grease the bar tip.

7. fuelrod

fuelrod

I just greased the 3 saws I used today.
    I'll do it every time I blow it out and service the air filter. This may equate to monthly???

Sinngetreu, M2theB, mat60 and 2 others like this.
  8. Eckie

Eckie

Do yall grease all bar tips, or just ones with that little hole?

9. The Wood Wolverine

The Wood Wolverine

Take the chain off and feel the tip sprocket for nice smooth action. If it’s real loose, might be time for a new tip if it’s replaceable. Too tight, grease it real good and try to work it free. I grease all my bar tips on a pretty routine basis. Usually hit the clutch drum bearing too.

M2theB, mat60, T.Jeff Veal and 2 others like this.
  10. The Wood Wolverine