In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Alaskan milling black locust

Discussion in 'The Sawyer Room' started by FatBoy85, Apr 2, 2018.

1. FatBoy85

FatBoy85

So I’ve got logs that are BL. Thought about making some boards for flower beds raised, but wondering if the logs are feasible for it. Logs are around 3.5-4.5 feet long. At 200 for a mill..not including the preliminary cut set up(term needed here but I’m certain its a duh). Anyways since the lumber lasts, I’m interested in cutting my own. Never done it before, curious though

2. Brian72

Brian72

You can use a 2x10 or 2x12 for your first cut. No need for anything fancy. Just make sure you don't hit the screws. It's only for flower beds so no need to be extremely precise.

Sent from my Moto E (4) using Tapatalk

3. FatBoy85

FatBoy85

Would you be able to explain how this is done? I mean I’m a real newb of this sort of thing so I’m gonna admit that. I just wonder if I can make boards that will last a bit.

NortheastAl likes this.
  4. Brian72

Brian72

Sure. Just screw the board down flat and run the mill down the top for your first cut. Again, be sure you don't hit the screws. Using a board longer than the log will make it easier to start and finish the cut by supporting the mill on both ends. After the first cut, the mill runs on the previous flat cut or you can continue using the board as a guide. I'll attach a few pics. We used an old ladder across sawhorses for our first cut on these logs but I've also used 2x10s.[​IMG][​IMG]

5. FatBoy85

FatBoy85

Thanks Brian72!

Horkn and NortheastAl like this.
  6. Brian72

Brian72

Anytime. Also, use wedges in the cut so the bar doesn't get pinched. Plenty of great info in the milling forums. It's fairly easy to get started. Don't over-think it. You'll learn a lot as you go. Getting one end up and milling downhill helps too.[​IMG][​IMG]

7. FatBoy85

FatBoy85