In loving memory of Kenis D. Keathley 6/4/81 - 3/27/22 Loving father, husband, brother, friend and firewood hoarder Rest in peace, Dexterday

Newbie meat smoker seeking wisdom

Discussion in 'The Smokehouse' started by JA600L, Jan 16, 2017.

1. JA600L

JA600L

Hi guys,
    I do a lot of cooking in and on the Woodstove. I really enjoy the smoke flavor. So I bought a really cheap offset smoker to kind of try something new. I realize that I will probably be getting what I payed for so I don't expect it to have a "wow" effect.

I am a mechanic with fabrication skill so I'm sure modifications will happen :dex:. I have some oak, locust, ash, pine, cherry, mulberry, and maple in the stack. I will soon be taking down a copper beech as well. Let me know if any of these are a good option.

Any other ideas or things to try? What can I expect out of this thing? Are certain meats good even if only smoke a few hours? I'm just trying to get a feel for it. Thanks!

Char-Broil American Gourmet Offset Smoker, Standard https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00365FI9E/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_66vFybPR821HH

NortheastAl and Eric VW like this.
  2. basod

basod

That'll work I smoke all kinds of tasty treats on an even cheaper barrel Charbroil (without offset).
    Oak has an OK flavor, white Oak is better when slightly green for subtle vanilla hues in the smoking process.
    Cherry pairs well with pork - just don't overdue it becomes bitter
    Mulberry is another nice flavor wood.

Keep the heat low sub 300F OK to overshoot a bit on reloads just dial it back after you get the hang of it
    You don't want to try and cook a piece of meat over one type of wood - use charcoal as a main heat source and add the smoke wood a small amount at a time.
    I did a rack of babybacks on 1 load of charcoal and two small hickory limbs for ~3hrs yesterday - fell off the bone and smoke flavor to perfection

3. grandgourmand

grandgourmand